Relationships

8 Things I Like About Being Single

“So, Serena, you got a boyfriend yet?”

My grandma asked me this the other night. My dad, my grandma and I were sitting on the porch, drinking margaritas and talking about nothing when she suddenly asked me out of the blue. It officially marks the umpteenth time I’ve been asked that. You’d think being single was a sin or something.

It’s become a joke, I think. Every time there’s a holiday where the family gathers at her house, someone asks me that. It’s pretty much guaranteed. Still, each holiday I have the hope no one will ask. And each time I am disappointed. It used to be kind of embarrassing answering “nope!” each time they asked. Actually, there were two times I said yes, but both times were totally screwed up, but I might as well have said no because those relationships didn’t last long at all.

Anyway, the other night was the final straw for me. What is so wrong with being single? It’s like society automatically expects a girl to be with someone just because she’s female. And what is so great about being in a relationship anyway? There are plenty of great things about being single, and I would hate to sacrifice even one of them.

1. I don’t have to feel guilty about not wanting to go to the bars on the weekends. Each relationship I’ve been in, I’ve been bugged about it. Sorry, nope, not a big drinker here!

2. I can make plans without consulting. This whole “I’m gonna be teaching English in the Middle East” thing? Yeah, probably wouldn’t be happening if I was in a relationship. I’m not about to ask permission, or even compromise, to better my future.

3. I don’t have to worry who’s paying for what. Again, each relationship I’ve been in (except one special one), it’s always been awkward when the bill comes. I don’t miss that at all.

Photo courtesy: living.msn.com

Photo courtesy: living.msn.com

4. Naps are spontaneous. Do I have to check my schedule first to see if I have plans that afternoon with Mister? Nope! My bed is my date after I work out or just spent several hours with internship work.

5. I can buy what I want. Okay, yeah, I can still do that in a relationship, but what girl doesn’t care (on some level, no matter how minute) what her boyfriend will think of her new jeans or dress or bra or [insert random clothing item here]. I do not miss hearing, “Those jeans could be a little tighter.”

6. No photo requests. “Can you send me a picture, baby?” Yet another thing I don’t miss.

Photo courtesy: beautylust.co.nz

Photo courtesy: beautylust.co.nz

7. “Pajamas already?” one of my exes asked me when he came over one night. It was past 10:30 and I had class the next day. If it’s 10 p.m. on a night before I have to get up early the next morning, you probably won’t catch me all dressed up relaxing on a chaise lounge. I don’t want to get guilt over my old lady, scratch that, responsible habits.

8. I only have to impress myself! No more worrying if my other half is going to like whatever we’re doing. I’m free to pick out a restaurant of my choosing. No consulting.

“Jane’s Aunt: Must be so hard to watch your younger sister get married before you.

Jane: Yes. Then I remember that I still get to have hot hate sex with random strangers and I feel SO much better!”

– 27 Dresses

2 thoughts on “8 Things I Like About Being Single

  1. Wow… I am in a long relationship.. but by reading this post i am going to change my decision .. ( hehe just kidding ) … nice post for those who are single..

Leave a Reply

