Uncategorized

Women to Love

Okay so I may have gone MIA for two months, but that’s only because I lost my writing muse. For awhile there I had no motivation to write… anything. Not even for Her Campus, which is pretty bad since I’m the Campus Correspondent at Oregon’s branch and responsible for keeping the site loaded with new content. I may be the CC, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have to write something once in awhile. Anyway, instead of finishing a 1,000 word profile due tomorrow in my Magazine Writing class, I’m writing a blog post. Don’t y’all feel special?!

So I’m sitting here listening to Adele, having a conversation with Alandra via text about how inspiring this woman is. Earlier tonight, Alandra and I were talking about another woman we love: Khloe Kardashian, who was on the cover of this month’s Cosmo. Aside from being women who love their bodies as they are, they are both talented, not afraid to use their sailor’s mouths, and great role models for young women (and heck, old women too!).

We should all have her confidence.Today women are put under such pressure to look a certain way. And it’s not just the media creating this pressure. We’re buying into it and becoming reflectors for each other. It’s like we’re regurgitating the crap we’re fed every day on movies, reality shows, magazines, etc. We all may say we don’t have body issues, but I think anyone who says that is in denial. Everyone has something they don’t like about their body. I think if we acknowledged that more often, girls would say, “Hey, okay, I’m not the only one who hates this about myself…” You wanna hear my theory? The more we talk about our problems, the more we’ll know that we aren’t the only ones going through something tough. I feel like no one talks about their problems with each other because they think no one else wants to hear it. But why can’t we be each other’s therapists?

Did you know that the average model today is 25% thinner than the average American woman? Coming from someone who reads a lot of magazines and has a subscription to Cosmo, that’s a pretty disconcerting fact. There was one day last week where I was so ashamed of myself for hating my body because it doesn’t look like the ones in the magazines I read. I’m 22 years old. Shouldn’t I be over this? Shouldn’t I realize that everyone looks different for a reason? Guess not if I’m now completely over-the-top aware of what I’m eating every day of the week and how much exercise I need to get in order to not gain a pound this week. Something isn’t right here.

Reading Khloe’s interview in Cosmo made me SO happy that there are women out in the world we can look up to for not having the “ideal” body shape. They’re a little thicker, but they rock it. Instead of shaming ourselves for not being a Victoria’s Secret size zero, how about we appreciate having a little extra? I once dated a guy who playfully squeezed my love handles whenever we were cuddling. This surprised me considering he was an Army guy and crazy fit, but it also comforted me.

We’re already constantly comparing ourselves to each other and that’s enough torture as it is so why do we do this little thing called “comparing ourselves to everyone else”? My mentor, whom I met through Big Brothers Big Sisters, is always saying, “If you’re always comparing yourself to everyone else, you’re screwed.” And she’s right! That’s the sure-fire way to feel depressed and downright hopeless of ever getting to a happy point. Work with what you have and if there’s something about yourself you don’t like, you’re well within your rights to change it to your liking. Just don’t forget that you look the way you do for a reason. What a lot of people don’t realize is that over-eating or under-eating happen for a reason. Maybe someone close to you died, maybe you just got out of a relationship, and you found that the only way to comfort yourself was by eating. Acknowledge it and THEN move on. Don’t work on yourself without acknowledging what got you where you are today. Part of losing weight or gaining weight, is therapy. The sooner you can deal with what happened.. the sooner you can get on your way to being a better you.

One thought on “Women to Love

  1. Sorry I’ve not responded before, and this one will be brief.I really like the way you,ve put your thoughts together here, even to surprising me with the Kardashian comment! So often people of my generation (and younger) get disgusted by the emphasis on all the “looking sexy” stuff because damnit WE fought that battle 45ish years ago. and what’s happened? We’d WON, and a whole generation of women–and men had their lives blissfully awakened. Now we all these young girls of even 9 and 10,practicing “sexy” walking and wanting sexy clothes…..GRRRRRRRR!
    Anyway I’m glad you sounded off.

Leave a Reply

