Social media

Fakebook

I’ve been discovering that a lot of the people I considered my “friends,” really aren’t my friends after all. I saw someone on my friends list in person last week and although we made clear eye contact, neither of us said a word to each other. In fact, I held my gaze with that person to say something, but they acted like I was invisible. What is up with that? Is this high school again? I mean, I can understand wanting to forget your past and maybe some of the people you grew up with in this small town of ours.. but if you’re gonna do that, make sure you forget those people on Facebook too! Don’t give them the false hope of expecting that if by chance you actually do see them in public you’ll say hi to them if it won’t happen. Don’t treat people like that. Facebook is really becoming the ultimate excuse to treat people crappy. Whatever happened to the Golden Rule, y’all?

Social media is really letting me down lately. Actually, so are people. Technology might enable us to do things we couldn’t have done in the past, but it’s also disabling us. Face-to-face conversations can now be so awkward, eye contact makes us break out in a sweat, and even phone conversations end in jumbled words. Are we somehow incapable of interacting with each other now that Twitter, Facebook, and all those other social media sites exist?

It’s times like these when I am really grateful to have pen pals on opposite sides of the country or in another country altogether. Who knew there could be such joy in checking the mail and seeing a handwritten letter to you? We all get bills each month that we dread finding in the mail, so what if once we were excited to check the mail? Society needs to get back to that.

One thought on “Fakebook

  1. I’ve always wanted to ditch my Facebook or just seize up my friends list to at least 50 and real. 🙂
    Thanks for this post, I don’t feel so alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

